Howard County Maryland Blog

Local Politics and Current Events

10-17-06 Open Thread

Posted by David Keelan on Tuesday, October 17, 2006

It is all yours.

37 Responses to “10-17-06 Open Thread”

  1. mary smith said

    Ulman and Merdon are more alike than not, and have made decisions in lock-step with one another (forget comp lite; the resulting Merdon decisions were the same as if he’d signed the original). Only partisans will argue otherwise.

    Democracy is not about blindly supporting party. Many claim to love this country but will not open up the field of candidates for an application of true democracy because it would kill the parties, their source of power.

    So, in terms of candidate choice, voters left with the remnants of what was once a group of patriots and now is a staggering, gluttonous group of power seekers with very few exceptions. The final nail in the coffin is the source for “truth”; media messages are mostly distorted and we have no competition in that arena.

    Calvin Ball, Greg Fox: Word on the street is that both assume they’ve already won. I see no evidence to the contrary, but instead behavior that supports lack of concern for citizens and votes, truth, patriotism, and certainly democracy, particularly if it’ll threaten their possibilites for power.

  2. Freemarket said

    Whatever happened to the online forum? It seems like we spend more time talking about Ulman’s resume than discussing the responses from candidates to the forum questions. Many of the candidates put a great deal of effort into their responses at a time when they had many other things going on, and it seems as though we have blown them off.

  3. Jim Adams said

    I have been questioning it also, Freemarket. I don’t know Freemarket, if you were at the Lisbon Firehouse Forum, for Republican Candidates. That was no more than a set up to bring Liversay down, with it’s planted questions.

    David as a Republican, get this on line forum moving,and set an honest example of how a forum should be conducted for our fellow Republicans and other friends.

  4. hocomd said

    Yes, we have been remiss. Does everyone have the link to the responses? The only one I have blogged on is 9A. It is a lot of work – I know that is a bad excuse. I will try to get back on it.

  5. Jim,

    Frankly, I am getting a little tired of your baseless potshots at the Republican Club. That forum was set up to allow all canddiaets in competitive primaries tout themselves to Republacins and also allow Republicans to probe the candidates on issues important to them. Three weeks before the forum, I personally sent out a broadcast email for anyone to submit questions that they would like to be asked at the forum. I know Mr. Livesay and yourself were both on that email list, so you had every opportunity to have supporters of yourself and Mr. Livesay send in questions. As a Greg Fox supporter, I submitted some myself. Because the officers, including myself, had personal preferences in that primary, we purposely went out and brought in a neutral moderator (the former past President of the Club) so that the questions chosen to be asked came from someone without a “dog in the fight”. Ironically, the one question I submitted that ended up being asked actually gave Mr. Livesay a chance to tout his success in reducing crime in Oakland Mills and tout his time as Police Chief. The other question about guns wasn’t even asked. From what I understand after the forum, all but two questions that were submitted eventually were asked, and that was due to time. One question dealt with guns and I can’t remember the other.

    A couple questions came up about support for Sandy Schrader in the General Election and a question that lead into the Hatch Act, which I guess are the questions you are refering to as “planted questions”. But I think those were legitimate questions to ask, especialyl teh question about support for Sandy Schrader. Whomever asked that question wanted to know whether all the candidates would support other Republican candidates in the General Election, which is very fair in my mind to ask in a Republican candidate’s forum. But there were plenty of others that gave all the cadndiates ample opportunity to tout themselves and speak to their resume and plans for Howard County.

    To suggest the forum was set up to “take down Livesay” is just a baseless attack, and you know it Jim.

  6. Jim Adams said

    IF I FELT, EVEN IN THE SMALLEST OF WAYS THAT YOU WERE CORRECT I WOULD OFFER A SINCERE APOLOGY. WHAT I DOING IS NOT A BASELESS ATTACK. NO QUESTIONS WERE ASKED OF ANY OTHER CADIDATE, INCLUDING ME, THAT WERE AS LAMELESS AS THOSE DIRECTED AT LIVERSAY. SWITCHING PARTIES??????????. WOULD YOU HAVE ASKED RONALD REGAN, OF EVEN CHUCK ECKER.
    LEGAL HARASSEMENT LAW SUITES????????? WHERE WAS THE QUESTION TO FOX BASED ON HIS EMPLOYMENT WITH CONSTELLATION ENERGY CO., PARENT CO. OF BG&E?

    TIRE IF YOU MAY OF WHAT YOU CALL MY POTSHOTS, BUT LET’S INDULDGE EACH OTHER WITH THE HOPE THAT WE WELL BRING THIS OUT IN THE OPEN FOR CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM.

  7. mary smith said

    Idealists on one side and power-seekers on the other. Hard to say who will win.

    Maybe winning is not the goal for the idealists. Genuine idealists do not attach ego to the win, but are attached to doing the right thing. As soon as vindication enters a plan of action, a real idealist will detach, re-evaluate, and re-focus on the higher goal.

  8. hocomd said

    Jim,

    The floor is yours. Tell us about Greg Fox and Constellation/BGE?

  9. No, I would not have asked Reagan that question because I fully understood and agreed his reasons for switching from the Democrats to Republicans. I didn’t know Chuck Ecker, never have actually met him face to face, and really did not follow County politics when he was running for County Executive or sitting as County Executive. So I can’t answer whether I would have supported him or not.

    Apparently nobody submitted a question regarding Greg Fox’s employment, so I am assuming that is why it did not come up in the Republican club forum. I know the topic of Greg’s employment came up the RestoreUS.org forum early on in the priamry before you had officially entered the race. Who submitted that question, I don’t know, but it either had to come from Don Dunn’s campaign or Wayne Livesay’s campaign, the two candidates you have supported so far in District 5. I am not sure what his employment has to do with anything as far as the County Council is concerned, but apparently others, including yourself, feel otherwise.

  10. Greg Fox said

    Jim…I’ll tell you. I develop energy conservation and renewable energy projects for the Federal, State, and local governments as well as manufacturing and commercial businesses here and around the country. I have been doing that for the past 9 years. Before that I was involved in the development of a district chilled water system and before that on a team promoting energy conservation and demand side management. I have spent my career promoting and developing technologies and projects that save energy and money while helping the environment. If you would like to insinuate otherwise, put up or ….

  11. Jim Adams said

    THANK YOU.

    GREG FOX’S WEBSITE LISTS HIS EMPLOYMENT AS “DIRECTOR, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT FOR ENERGY CONSERVATION AND RENEWABLE ENERY PROJECTS”. FURTHER, HE CITES 20 YEARS EMPLOYMENT IN “TWO FORTUNE 200 COMPANIES”. WHY DOESN’T HE SAY THAT HE IS CURRENTLY EMPLOYED BY CONSTELLATION ENERGY COMPANY, PARENT COMPANY OF BG&E? WHO WAS HIS OTHER EMPLOYER? ETHICALLY, HE WOULD HAVE TO RECLUSE HIMSELF FROM ANY ISSUE INVOLVING POWER IN THE CCOUNTY COUNCIL. IF ELECTED, WILL HE REPRESENT THE PUBLIC’S INTERENT OR DO THE BIDDING OF HIS PARTY BOSS (KITTLEMAN) AND/OR BIG BUSINESS/SPECIAL INTEREST?

  12. Jim Adams said

    YOU MAY WANT TO HOLD YOUR COMMENTS, AND/OR QUESTIONS FOR ME, I DON’T WANT ANY UNFAIR ADVANTAGE. I WILL BE AWAY FROM THE SITE FOR THE REST OF THE DAY, BUT BACK TOMORROW, SO RELOAD.

  13. hocomd said

    Jim, I didn’t know it was a secret. I don’t think he ever hid it. I know where he works (have for 4 years), you know it, so does anyone who cares.

    How often does power come up in front of Council? I can only remember once when Ulman proposed a power co-op. If it were to come up I am sure he would recuse himself.

    Since you are asking. I think Greg will represent the public interest. Why do you suggest he may not? Because he is supported by Kittleman?

    Is Don Dunn only going to represent the special interests of Jim Adams and the Democratic Party. Maybe he will only represent the interests of the printer slotters, rotary die cutters, large size flexo folder gluers, and the Rotofeed lead edge feeder industry.

    Jim, I am beginning to think you have a problem with Allan Kittleman. Do you?

  14. mary smith said

    Oh good. Finally someone brought up Don Dunn, and the fact that Fox has an opponent who is not only viable but far superior if the measure is what the two candidates have been doing in recent years. Dunn works for the people of this county, has actually returned developer campaign contributions, and will, like everyone else, continue to operate has he has in history.

  15. mary smith said

    Oh good. Finally someone brought up Don Dunn, and the fact that Fox has an opponent who is not only viable but far superior if the measure is what the two candidates have been doing in recent years. Dunn works for the people of this county, has actually returned developer campaign contributions, and will, like everyone else, continue to operate has he has in history, after taking elected office.

  16. ed said

    “forget comp-lite” why, because you say so. courtney watson said it was illegal and she is right on. i plan to vote for her and i’m no partisan except for being against all the growth and especially the arrogance of comp-lite. votes on change or mistake in front of the zoning board have a completely different legal standard. it’s just a cold hard fact. with all due respect mary, are you familiar with the differences?

  17. Melissa said

    Totally different topic here. Warren won an “award” from the Maryland Taxpayers Association. (http://www.mdtaxes.org/NEWS-STORIES-2006/MTA-Warren.Miller.Award.10.11.06.htm) Congrats to him.

    But my real questions is: You said you were going to follow up and find out why Gail (Allan and the other challengers) hadn’t signed the no new taxes pledge. Or was that dogged determination saved up just for me? Funny, huh?

    But I would still like to know.

  18. Ralph said

    Is this the same Melissa that is now supporting Rich Corkran a Democrat for State Senate and putting his signs in all of the yards where Hers were? Republicans will remember nonsense like this four years from now when Mrs. Covolesky wants to run for something as a Republican.

  19. hocomd said

    Melissa, good question. I honestly forgot. I will forward you inquiry.

    Ralph, what the hell are you talking about?

  20. Ralph said

    I’m talking about all of those Corkran for Senate signs in Western Howard County in the lawns where formerlly there were only Covolesky signs. Strange but true – if you drive around Lisbon or Popular Springs you can see what I’m talking about. I want to know why the same people would support a Republican for Delegate in a primary and switch and support a Democrat for State Senate in the General? No other signs of any type present in the lawns in question. After the two letters to the editor about Allan it looks like somebody is upset about losing the primary to me…

  21. hocomd said

    Ralph,

    I wasn’t nearly as involved or close to the election four years ago as I am this year. I must say, their really is a lot of bitterness out there.

    I lost an election too. Guess what. I didn’t lose one moment of sleep over it either.

    If what you are saying is true then I have to wonder why run as a Republican in the first place? Unless their is a long term personal relationship I am not aware of then Ok. I can understand that.

    Time to move on. Can’t wait until November 8th.

  22. Numbersgirl said

    Didn’t you say that there was going to be a Sun article on Ken’s resume available on Sunday? Do you have a link?

  23. hocomd said

    Numbers, yes I did. It is supposed to be in this Sunday’s paper now. It will examine the resume of Merdon, Ulman and Wallis. I think it will be in Larry Carson’t “Political Notes” column.

    I fully expected to see it this past Sunday. I don’t know what happened.

  24. Melissa said

    Ralph, I am not supporting Rich or any other Democrat. I’ve openly supported Gail and Warren and will vote for them in the General Election. I won’t be voting for Allan; I won’t be voting in that race but I won’t be voting for Rich either. Just doesn’t sit well with me to pull the lever for someone who spent so much to beat me. You’ll just have to indulge me on that.

    I don’t own the property you’re talking about – My Dad, who was a registered Democrat prior to my run at office, is supporting Rich. I certainly can’t tell him what him to do. I did ask him to understand the position he is putting me in by putting those signs on his commercial property. Obviously that didn’t really happen and Dad and I have argued over that lately. That’s between us.

    I’ve been busy interviewing for several jobs and now that I have one *mostly* nailed down, I’ve been visiting the project sites down South. I’ve been traveling pretty steadily for a few weeks now (New Hampshire, Boston, Texas, New Mexico) – I haven’t had enough time to do much with the campaign. And no, other than election night, I haven’t lost sleep over it either. I will be taking (assuming all comes thru as expected) a non-government job so I can stay more involved with politics and not run afoul of the Hatch Act. If I had accepted the position I was offered earlier with the Presidential Management Fellowship program, I was advised by the OSC that I would have to close down any campaign committees and not accept any contributions for the duration of the employment. That is something I’m not really willing to do, so I declined a great position.

    So, whatever it is you’re suggesting I’m doing with Democrat support – you’re way off-base. I don’t know if you’ve met my father – but he’s a very independent and strong minded man and I certainly don’t have a magic wand to suddenly, after 38 years, make him bend to my will. You’re welcome to stop in at the farm (BTW, my husband and I moved off the farm in Cooksville in Dec last year, so I won’t be there….) and meet him for yourself. If his silver pickup is at the Red Barn, he’s likely in with the horses. He’d love to explain his support decisions, I’m sure. But I won’t speak for him and I wish you wouldn’t impute his decisions on me.

    Over the course of my campaign, I ran into MANY split party families and if I just assumed to leave their vote on the table because there was a sign for another party, or even my opponents in the yard, I wouldnt have gotten any votes. I’m glad you’re very robotic and have the rest of your family well trained to do your bidding – I, alas, am not so fortunate. There are even rumors that my Husband, Dave, has a mind of his own and might actually vote for Allan against my wishes – Horrors.

    I’ll do what I can to prevent my mind control device from sputtering out… This can’t possibly be allowed to continue…

    Also, other than this blog’s references to letters about Allan, I personally haven’t seen the pieces you’re talking about in the papers. (Been out of town a lot – see above…) I didn’t have time to send either my brother or my brother-in-law Happy Anniversary cards (something I am usually good about) this month because I have been committed to taking some *Me* time and getting a job. So please don’t think I now have time to coordinate a dedicated effort against Allan. I’ll admit I’m miffed about the money he ended up giving to Warren(and Gail by association) before the election, but seriously, I’m not going to run around like a crazy woman. Have we met? Did I strike you that way? Seriously.

  25. Melissa said

    Oh, after re-reading the entire comments section, laughing about it with my husband, I see that Ralph is our very own Warren Miller (“I see someone is upset about losing the primary to me…”) AHHH, that makes total sense now. Tell me again who sounds bitter? Or are you just mad my father knows more people in our area than you and he’s not putting up your signs? Since Gail doesn’t support slots and he raises Thoroughbreds, there’s not a chance is h*** that he would put up her (and hence your) signs. You’ll just have to accept that fact. He wants to get someone elected that will actually support that bill, republican or not. As I said before – he’s a pretty independent minded guy and on slots he’s fairly adamant about candidates supporting it. Since you obviously know Brice – get off the computer, drive over there and talk to him face to face about it. Quit taking potshots at me.

    I am not supporting Rich or Allan. And seriously, you’re giving me pause about you now. Can you blame me – trying to anonymously blast me on two different blogs? Get a life. Lastly, as you well know, since we do know each other – It’s Mrs. Covolesky. Cut the pretenses.

  26. Freemarket said

    Ralph- how is the fight going against the homosexual agenda? It must be tough to prevent them from taking over the laws and social order of Maryland. Have you tried leg-hold traps yet?

  27. Freemarket said

    By the way, Ralph. It is POPLAR Springs, not Popular Springs. It is spelled wrong on your website also.

  28. Melissa said

    And I just saw that “Mrs. Covolesky” was posted correctly. I apologize for my too quick reading of these posts/comments (While I am doing several other things like laundry at the moment); that is the same reason I didn’t at first notice who the poster was. So, I take that minor portion of my post back. But the point still stands that you shouldn’t hide behind the cloak of nameless blogs to blast someone you know, about something you’ve made up in your mind.

  29. timactual said

    Mr. Adams

    Is there something unsavory or undesireable about working for Constellation Energy? I would certainly like to know, so I can warn my wife, who works there.

  30. Jim Adams said

    Timactual, no nothing unsavory or undesirable about working for Constellation Energy. It is safer than working as a Cop, and your reputation will not suffer, while as a Cop ,who may place his life on the line, his reputation could be torn to treads.

    The difference is worth thinking about.

  31. mary smith said

    Whoa. Warren Miller said that? It’s worse than I thought…

  32. Warren Miller said

    All/Melissa,
    I have absolutely no idea who “Ralph” is. And I can assure you that I have far better ways to use my time! I have been working hard to re-elect Governor Ehlich and Senator (Elect) Steele and also get more Republicans in office in Howard County.

    As for some of the other anonymous bloggers on this site (i.e. Freemarket) Yes it’s true I support traditional marriage. No big secret you can browse to mlis.state.md.us and check out my votes on most any issue. I also opposed the “Leg Hold” trap bill because of health concerns, we’ll see what the future holds for the health of the wild animal’s when they become overpopulated.

    As for how Melissa and Her father and Husband vote, they are welcome to vote for anyone they choose, we live in a democracy after all! I rarely post on here and I again assure you that I am not Ralph….

    Warren Miller

  33. mary smtih said

    You know, Ralph was the woman’s name on Green Acres.

    Ralph? Any response?

    Ralph seems to have been silenced….

    David, what’s the Latin for: “Shoot off mouth, shoot self in Foot”?

  34. jen said

    I think “ralph” is guilty of poor grammar… which is, perhaps, much better than being accused of being Warren Miller. (Depending, of course, on whether you are gay and hope to get civil rights in your lifetime).

    I think Ralph meant. ‘it looks to me like someone is upset about losing the primary’. Not- ‘It looks like someone is upset about losing the primary to me’.

    I could be wrong, but see what you think

  35. mary smtih said

    Melissa: Another good one lost to the primary (regime) regimen.

  36. Numbersgirl said

    The animals aren’t overpopulated- it’s humans that are, and thereby forcing the animals from their habitat.

    I am therefore going to lobby that we begin to use leghold traps to ensnare humans, allow them to flop around in pain for hours (or days), sever a limb perhaps, and in the end, shoot them.

    My idea of human(e) population control…

    I might not have much to say about development or zoning issues, but when it comes to the needless cruelty and inhumane treatment of helpless animals as a response to problems caused and exacerbated by humans, I have a definite opinion.

  37. Melissa said

    Numbersgirl,
    I am attending a workshop/ training conference next month called EARS (emergency animal rescue service) and would like to help integrate what we learn into an overall, comprehensive disaster preparedness plan with the county. The workshop is full, but I would like to disseminate the information and materials to those intersted. The link is:
    http://www.uan.org/index.cfm?navid=35 If you’re interested in getting involved or would like to help – I have no idea how extensive this would be yet, until after the seminar – let me know. I’d love to work with other compassionate animal lovers! my email is covolesky@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

 
