Howard County Maryland Blog

Local Politics and Current Events

Courtney Watson Ad (Updated)

Posted by David Keelan on Thursday, November 2, 2006

Do you find it interesting that Courtney Watson put out an ad in the papers (I saw it in The View) quoting Chris Merdon:

“I’ve worked with Courtney for eight years, and can tell you that she will do a great job on the County Council.”

Why do I ask?  Merdon had to put out a statement that says he never said such a thing and didn’t authorize her to quote him in her advertising.

What do you think?

UPDATE:

Merdon Statement

It has come to my attention that Courtney Watson placed an advertisement in The View newspaper stating that I think she would be a great County Council person.  I want to make it absolutely clear that I never said the statement and did not giver her permission to use my name or any quote in the advertisement.

I have a phone call into Courtney asking for an explanation.

8 Responses to “Courtney Watson Ad (Updated)”

  1. Hayduke said

    Do you have a copy of Merdon’s rebuke?

  2. wordbones said

    David,

    This is the first time I have actually commented on your blog. I have resisted because you require an email address for comments and I find that a little suspicious.

    Anyway…

    It is interesting to note that Chris got upset with Courtney using his name without his authorization but he had no qualms using Chuck Eckers name without checking with Chuck first.

    I got this straight from Chuck in case you were wondering.

    What is good for the goose is good for the gander.

    -wordbones

  3. Word,

    As you can see I made up a nom des plume. You can make up an email address too.

    Wasn’t Chuck Ecker the keynote speaker at Merdon’s announcement?

    Why would Chuck have a problem then of Chris using his name in his campaign literature? Did he explain? I will ask him next time I speak with Chuck.

    Vladimir (David)

  4. Boris Yeltsin said

    What does any of this side chatter have to do with Courtney
    lying in an ad? If we can’t trust her ads, how can we trust
    Her to represent us on the Council????

  5. Mikhail Gorbachev said

    Boris, Boris, Boris…
    whatever happened to glasnost? (Oh, wait.. that was MY idea- not yours- you just drank yourself silly and passed out all the time).

    I say the sky is blue. You say it is white. Who’s lying?
    A) I am- because we all know the sky is white because you really like white skies and therefore we need no evidence to the contrary. Typical communist strategy.
    B)You are- because you’re an idiot and a drunk.
    C)Neither- Vladmir has not revealed the entire story. (And you appointed him- what were you thinking?!

    Boris, I say this with all kindness, put the baton down you are in NO shape to direct the orchestra.

  6. hocomd said

    Welcome back Mary

  7. Boris Yeltsin said

    Mikhail or er Mary,
    Even us drunks like to pay attention to who represents us on the Howard County Council and since this concerns Ellicott City and not Columbia I would enjoy having someone who does not make it his habit distorting the truth as my next Councilman!

    By the way in my USSR I told you what color the sky was, there was none of this glasnost that is rampant on this here blog site….

  8. Mikhail Gorbachev said

    Zdravstvuite Boris,
    I’d tell you to eat your hat in Russian- but “hello” is all I picked up in Moscow. I guess if you are looking for voting for integrity.. you are going to have to pull the lever for Watson. At least she didnt’ use the “endorse” word and have to print an official retraction like Salazar did. Didn’t I tell you to put that baton down? Your horn section is drowning out the strings.

    THE OFFICIAL STATEMENT-

    From: “Christopher Merdon”

    “From the beginning of my race for County Executive, I have consistently declined to endorse other candidates in Howard County. Although I did suggest that Ms. Watson could be a good addition to the county council, my statement was intended in the spirit of graciousness at a social event, not as a formal political endorsement.”

Leave a Reply

 
