Howard County Maryland Blog

Local Politics and Current Events

Apology Demanded

Posted by David Keelan on Sunday, July 8, 2007

I recently read this highly offensive comment on the web site that claims to be a political report.

They attributed the following comment to Senator Pete Domenici (R-N.M.) relative to the Senator’s recent comments about Iraq.

“When my biggest fundraiser called to ask how soon we’re getting out of Iraq, and then hung up on me, I knew it was time to stand up — before I lost my job faster than you can say ‘David Iglesias’.”

I don’t care if it is political satire – it just isn’t right to insinuate that Domenici is pandering to his financial contributors.  It just isn’t right.  I don’t care that they are just trying to make a point – I am not a deep enough thinker – it hurts my head and I just can’t go there.

In all seriousness checkout the very funny “The Political Satire Report“, or “The Onion News“, or Ben Franklin’s “A Witch Trial at Mount Holly.”.  The Capital Steps are funny too.

[I can’t believe I am even writing this….]

I wish Bob Newhart had done more political satire.  He is just plain funny.  Garrison Keillor is funny too and he does a lot of satire – especially fake conversations.

Anyone else want to share their favorite political satire sites.  Anything at all.  George Carlin anyone?

2 Responses to “Apology Demanded”

  1. chris said

    I still think the Daily Show is one of the best. The “1/2 Hour News Hour” (a Daily Show/Weekend Update knock off on Fox News) is pretty pathetic. Have any of the Republican readers seen it? or the other “comedy” show on Fox News, Red Eye? What do you think?

  2. Best political satire site in my mind is scrappleface.com

Leave a Reply

 
